Rogue Valley Clean Air

Air Quality Index

Source: AirNow

The purpose of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Air Quality Index (AQI) is to help you understand what local air quality means to your health. To make it easier to understand, the AQI is divided into six categories.

AQI Chart In-House SMALLER-3

Each category corresponds to a different level of health concern. The EPA has assigned a specific color to each AQI category to make it easier for people to understand quickly whether air pollution is reaching unhealthy levels in their communities. For example, the color orange means that conditions are "unhealthy for sensitive groups," while red means that conditions may be "unhealthy for everyone," and so on.

AQI Color Chart In-House

Forest Fire
Air Quality During Wildfires

During a wildfire, when smoke levels can rise and fall rapidly, use the Visibility Guidelines During Wildfires to help you estimate smoke levels and what precautions to take to protect your health.